University College

News Releases



Providence holds Annual General Meeting
The Providence Corporation and members of the Board of Governors convened Friday, October 21 for the Annual General Meeting.
Following presentations from members of the President’s Cabinet, who shared stories of alumni who are difference-makers, board member Lorna Dueck, CEO of Crossroads Christian Communications, explained the importance of Christian higher education to Canadian society.
Outgoing board members Dennis Giesbrecht and Grant Driedger were then recognized for their combined 12 years of service, and Libby Hanna was elected to serve a third four-year term.
President Dr. David Johnson also presented his annual State of the Institution Address, which he opened by reading Psalm 46 and recognizing the presence of the Providence campus on Treaty One territory, inhabited over many centuries by the Cree, Anishinabe and Metis peoples.
Dr. Johnson then revealed to the gathering that student registration numbers were higher than at any time since 2009 and also acknowledged an international student population of more than 100, representing 30 countries.
Regarding finances, Dr. Johnson announced a third successive budget surplus and spoke about the importance of estate registries and donations in realizing the institution’s priorities.
Finally, he conveyed the success of IMPACT 2020: The Campaign for Providence and pointed out that the ongoing fundraising initiative had already delivered the Buller School of Business, new science facilities and programming, a landscaped courtyard, a Welcome Centre to house all student services, additional staff and faculty and increased salaries.
“At the end of the day the proof is in the pudding, so we look to our alumni to see how they are serving Christ in the world,” he concluded. “We have stellar alumni from every era of our history, people who have served and are serving Christ around the world in all sorts of capacities, from social justice initiatives to church planting and everything in between.”
Providence Board of Governors 2016/17: David Baker, Harold Barg, Lorn R. Bergstresser, Lorna Dueck, Beverley J. Dyck, Ron B. Friesen, Dr. Gordon Giesbrecht, Libby Hanna, Howard G. Jolly, Dr. David Johnson, John Laugesen, Dr. Elfrieda Lepp-Kaethler, RJ MacKenzie, Gerry Michalski, Janine Parkinson, Steve Pasiciel, Jeff Pries, Bardia Salimkhani, E. James Scobbie, Katherine Thiessen
(Top to bottom: Dr. David Johnson; Lorna Dueck)


10 College Crescent
Otterburne, Manitoba, Canada, R0A 1G0
Phone: (204) 433-7488 or (800) 668-7768
Fax: (204) 433-7158
Copyright @ 2015 Providence
Privacy Policy